Hello peeps, it has been far far too long! I’m not sure what happened to me, I have started to write a few entries, but never seem to be able to finish them.  Let’s
try and get something on this cyber paper!beck

iTunes Festival 2014, my 6th Festival, has started and we all know I’m a lucky lucky person, I have won a handful of tickets :-). I must say Apple have really tightened and limited the way to win tickets, one iTunes account – one email address! To be honest, it’s only fair and I blame all the greedy people out there who entered only to sell FREE tickets afterwards. So now you know, one chance, ID checked outside, stamp on hand, no waiting in queue without your friend (plus one), ID checked inside. If any of you guys bought a ticket of someone, well, you just wasted your money and spoiled the winning process for the rest of us.

This year I’m starting with Beck, I have to admit he is not someone I know, but my daughter LOVES him, and yes, she was a tad envious when I told her I had tickets and she couldn’t come over from Paris. My daughter and her husband weren’t too sure if he was my cup of tea, but, the only way to find out is to go and see him.

Turning up at the Roundhouse, seeing all the big posters advertising the acts, big hello from the security guards.  Joanne, who I took in a couple of years ago Frontrow Posseto see Matchbox 20, was in the standby queue, tapping on my shoulder saying hi.  Just being there, people holding their precious tickets in their hands, nipping over the road to get a sandwich. Once inside I just felt a huge buzz, I have been tired and a little despondent lately, but walking in, wristband on, up the stairs into the main hall………..everything familiar, the smell of anticipation in the air, my space at the frontrow secured by my trusted gig buddies Nigel and Kathy, I really felt like I have come home. Is that sad? Looking around I spot a familiar face, one of the security guys, I go over to him , a hug, a hello, and yes the promise ‘if I get a set list it’s yours’ :-). A little while later he even comes over to say hello to my frontrow posse, another of the security guards, a young girl, lingers and chats to us for a while, lovely young lady! Somehow I’m missing Johnny’s face further down the barrier, waving and competing with me for the set lists.

It’s time to turn our attention to the stage, the support act has arrived, Jenny Lewis, never heard of her. At first glance I quite like her set, all pink, stars and Jenny Lewisrainbows, but to be honest, the novelty wore off quickly. Her boots, guitar, everything in pastel colours with stars on…..hmmmm, ok, if you have to. She starts her set with a song called ‘Silver Lining’, she sounded good, a little bit country. Nice performer, nice singer, but after 5 or so songs I got a bit bored, sorry Jenny!

Set over, and impossible to get a set list, the techies are just not interested, I guess they are busy changing the set over. I glance at Jenny LewisJoanne, who is only a couple of spaces away and she has one in her hand…….how I ask, ahh, she went round to the sound desk, clever girl.

The stage is being set for Beck, hmmm, there was me thinking he is a one man band, wrong, drums, keys…everything a full band needs has been rolled in, ok, so this bodes well! I hear Beck is supposed to be coming on stage at 9:15, WHAT? Its always 9pm, there is always the countdown on the big screen……….hang on, where are the screens? Where is the short video going through bands that have performed here in previous years? iTunes, you’re letting me down :-(. This is not creating the electric atmosphere as in previous years, when everybody cheered when their fav band came up and joined in the countdown from 10 down. SHAME!!
Being on the barrier stage left I do spot a lit up circle with the countdown on, purely for the cameras though, as it is shown live via iTunes, a Beckfew people try and instigate the countdown, but it isn’t quite happening.

And here is the man himself, he bursts on to the stage, full of energy. Looks like we are in for a treat! He starts with the song ‘Devil’s Haircut’ and yes, I’m impressed, he is good! He moves so fast on that stage, it is hard to get a good photo with our little cameras. The third song ‘Loser’ is the well known one and gets the crowd going, this is how we like it, arms in the air, singing along, brilliant. Beck’s show is amazing, jacket on, jacket off, kneeling or lying on the floor, jumping in the air, he is making me tired just watching. His harmonica he just used gets chucked off the stage and lands somewhere near us, I spot it…too late, the girl next to Kathy got there first, am I losing my touch?? She holds it tight in Beckher hand and later I see her giving it to a guy close to her, who is obviously a huge fan, knows every word to every song, you can actually feel his excitement! I like that A LOT!
Suddenly there seems to be mayhem on stage, the musicians running around, bumping into each other, falling down, staying down, a yellow ‘do not cross- crime scene’ tape is being pulled across the stage, one of the guys dragged along the floor by his legs off the stage………..everybody disappears, all is quiet for a moment, until Beck and his band reappear and carry on with the set! BeckAmazing show, I turn to Peter to see what he thinks, yes, he is liking it! Being an old school rocker that is a big compliment Mr.Beck!

Beck16 tracks later the magic is over! What a spectacular start to my iTunes festival 14, bring on Pharrell Williams!

And now the fight for the set list, it seems impossible to get the guys attention :-(, one lucky girl gets a set list passed down, epic fail on my side! But hang on, Nigel managed to get one for me, amazing, thank you Nigel, awesome!!Beck
Just as we were leaving, Joanne grabs me, giving me a set list for Jenny Lewis, she said “I got a second one for you, as a thank you for taking me in for Matchbox 20“. Big smile, it’s called karma, you give and you get!!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Nigel L says:

    Brliiant and well written! Good work! 🙂 (y)
    Thanks for the mentions! 😉 lol
    Very interesting and exciting to read, you have a nice way with words!
    Nigel L

Leave a Reply

