My second date with the Roundhouse this month, going to make the acquaintance of Pharrell Williams! To be honest I only know the ‘Happy’ song, which is Pharrella great record to sing along to in the car, and I believe it’s the song that gave this young man the breakthrough he deserves. I gather he has been around for a while in various bands from the hip hop scene, correct me if I’m wrong, please.

iTunes day 10Arriving at the Roundhouse I realise I timed it perfectly, the queue was just about to form and I managed to slip in the first section, soon after Nigel arrived. So here we are again, ready to jump!!! Soon enough the doors open and we are allowed in, the guys in front had just got their Pizza, eating as fast as they can, even trying to give some away. The guys in the Stand-by queue watching us go, with a look of ‘I wish it was me’ on their faces, that will be me tomorrow, I have no ticket for Maroon 5, but am determined to see them.

Once inside we manage to get to the barrier, more or less the same spot as for Beck, yes, that will do nicely! As always it’s a bit of a long boring wait, but if you Junglewant to have a prime spot, you just have to put the time in! The room fills up quickly, Pharrell is obviously well thought after. People sit on the floor, chat, check their mobiles, yes it’s time finally. The stage is ready for the Support band ‘Jungle’.Jungle

At 7:45pm they are appearing on stage, there are quite a few members and instruments. Not sure where I would categorise them, dance music? Electro? No, not a clue.  Musically they sound really good, and there are a lot of fans in the crowd, shouting and screaming. I get bored after a little while, but I guess that has more to do with me not knowing them and its not pulling me. The light is also really bad, no chance to get a good photo with my little camera.

I must say, there are some funny people about. When we first arrived there was a couple next to us, but they went away, moved around, obviously they lost their spot, not that it mattered. According to the female, she was a famous DJ with her own radio show on-line, she was an actress, a close friend of Lily Allen I think it was…..BUT, was sacked from the security company because she was attacked…and she lives with her mother??? Well, it entertained Nigel and I…lol!! I
Owen 1then found myself next to a husband and wife couple, again they had no idea how to keep their space and ended up with one of them behind. I did chat to them though about how annoying cameras and phones can be, iPads being the worst, why do some people insist on viewing the show through their phones or cameras. I admit I can get carried away taking photos, but I do try and keep it in front of myself so I’m not disturbing other peoples view. The husband did mention how years ago, you just came and watched, no photos, nothing, and wifey agreed. So now please explain to me why their poor sons, one called Owen apparently, had to watch the whole show through the women’s iPhone/facetime? The kid was  not that interested and it really disturbed my viewing, as the eye Owen 2automatically was drawn to the damn phone. If the kid really wanted to see the show….HELLOOOOO….it gets shown live on iTunes, much better quality and you never know mother may get spotted in the crowd. Poor kids!!!!!

Anyway, the show begins and the count down is much better today.. 10..9..8..7..6..5..4..3..2..1….the noise is deafening when Pharrells beautiful girls turn up on stage, dancing like nobody is watching them, I’m exhausted just watching. Pharrell comes on stage looking familiar in torn jeans and his hat, opening the set with ‘Lose yourself to dance’ , very fitting start. I have to say, I’m not a dancy, hip hoppy type Pharrellperson any more, but this guy makes you move. An extraordinary performer who I’m experiencing for the very first time, you can’t help it you have to love him! It feels very similarly to the first time I saw Example (funnyily enough, here at iTunes), totally blown away. Pharrell is working the stage so everybody gets a close up glimpse of him, the girls are on stage all throughout the show, respect for their stamina, I do remember how exhausting dancing can be. But these girls are smiling and making it look Pharrelleasy, yes, I’m a tad jealous, how I wish I was still able to dance like that. Well, back to the main man, he is delivering one track after another, 17 songs all together. He does mention apple one or ten times, I wonder why? lol! He introduces a former band member of N.E.R.D., they doing a couple of numbers together, and the crowd goes wild, amazing atmosphere, and yes Owen still has to watch. Another very irritating thing this women does is wave frantically at Pharrell to sing Pharrellinto her bloody phone every time he comes near us, resulting (I’m sure) in him to not paying our side much attention.
Every girl also gets a chance to show of her skills by herself, very nice, I’m sure all the men in the crowd enjoyed that very much.
As if the crowd hasn’t been pumped up enough all night, when he delivers ‘Happy’ as his last song all hell breaks lose. Everybody is singing, Pharrellconfetti rains down on us in all shapes and sizes, and loads of it. I do love a bit of confetti. Pharrells own security guy who watches with beady eyes from the side of the stage looks great, somehow he’s only got stars on his black top and they are evenly spaced too, good look :-)!
It’s all over, time went so quick, it’s hot and sweaty in here! Pharrell lingers on stage a little while soaking in the appreciation he is shown, I get the feeling he is a little choked up. And why not, as he mentioned earlier, it took him a long, long Pharrelltime to get to where he is today.

The stage is empty, time to leave another amazing night behind, and yes, I do manage to get the setlist!!
Thank you iTunes for introducing me yet again to another great artist.

 

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love Pharrell since his N.E.R.D days so glad you enjoyed it FRS x

Leave a Reply

